--- title: "Deleting A User" slug: "deleting-a-user" updated: 2026-05-26T19:03:44Z published: 2026-05-26T19:03:44Z canonical: "mfa.rapididentity.com/deleting-a-user" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://mfa.rapididentity.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Deleting A User Deleting a user from your MFA environment is a two-step process: deactivation and deletion. When deactivating and deleting a user, this will free up a user license for being able to add new users, and disassociate any authentication hardware (contactless cards or FIDO tokens), also making them available for reuse with new users. ## Deactivate Users Users must be deactivated before they can be deleted. Users cannot be deleted from any other [user state](https://mfa.rapididentity.com/docs/user-information-page#user-states). After deactivation, a user account can only be placed in Steady State or New Credential. Users in a deactivated state will not be able to log into the User Admin Portal. 1. In the Admin Portal, under the *Users* tab, look up the user to be deactivated and/or deleted. 2. Click on their name. 1. Click **Edit** in the bottom-left. 2. In the pop-up window set the **User State** to "Deactivated". ![image.png](https://cdn.document360.io/cf888ab6-47bb-4aaa-984b-26a47cdccf46/Images/Documentation/image%2818%29.png) 3. Click **Save**. --- ## Delete Users The Delete Users search only returns users in the deactivated state. 1. Under the **Users** tab, in the menu on the left-hand side, click to **Delete Users**. 1. Search for the deactivated user. 2. Click their name in the search results. 3. You will be brought to a new page that asks to confirm their deletion. Click **Delete User**. ![image.png](https://cdn.document360.io/cf888ab6-47bb-4aaa-984b-26a47cdccf46/Images/Documentation/image%2819%29.png)